Don’t make me go back

Last week was KCL’s “reading week.” I think it is meant to be a study week/needed break since the English don’t have a Thanksgiving. The idea is you spend it catching up on reading (duh) and doing research. I spent one day doing Greek and that’s it. This is why I am failing. I may have done more, but I went on a weekend trip to Cornwall. I took my books with the best intentions, but nothing happened. Shocker. Also, I know this isn’t a competition, but I feel like I’ve seen so little compared to my other friends here. I don’t want to waste my opportunity to go and see things while I am in a place where I can.

Cornwall was amazing. Eley and Melanie have been wanting to get the heck out of London, so Eley put a ragtag group together. It ended up being six people: five girls and one guy. Worked surprisingly well, all things considered. We were only gone Friday – Sunday, so it was a quick trip. Despite that, it was worth it. We went to Polzeath beach and Tintagel. Tintagel has the remains of a castle that was supposedly King Arthur’s. the sights were amazing and I wish photos could have accurately captured them. Here are a few where I am attempting to do the scenery justice:

Polzeath Beach

Tintagel

The water was gorgeous and everything was so green. There was also a lot of sheep, so that made me happy. I love sheep.

I want to go back to the little cottage we stayed in. I am not ready for school again. I’m terrified because my first paper and small presentation are due in the next two weeks. Time has gone by so fast and I feel like I am nowhere I need to be with learning. What have I learned for a dissertation? For any of my essays? I don’t know! What if I fail? I’ll be so disappointed in myself.

On an off subject note, I went for a run (finally) the other day. It was nice to be active again, even though I was slow and didn’t know what I was doing. I need exercise in my life, despite being naturally lazy and never making time for it. I just have to get my act together and go for it. I’m nervous, though, because my knee hurt afterward. I’m afraid running up/down hills after being inactive for so long is hard on it. I’m not sure how to remedy that, though. I don’t want to not run anymore, but it also won’t be any good if I bust up my knee. For one, how the hell will I get home every day?! I have to walk up a million hills. That would be terrible.

Deep breaths. Greek class in a half hour, and flat searching with Melanie afterward. Then I need to read to study prepare for class tomorrow. Just gotta go for it.

About Lost in London

I often have no clue what I am doing. I get lost, A LOT. I have a terrible sweet tooth which I say I am fighting, but I usually follow that claim up with inhaling a cupcake. Currently I am attempting to live in London and get my Masters. Come and watch me blunder!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

