“We need to buy more matching jumpers”

Sometimes living with Melanie feels like a sitcom. I’m really glad I moved in with her. It’s like I finally get to have those girly or downright weird moments that I always see on TV. We spent this evening watching Gilmore Girls in matching sweatshirts (also called “jumpers”), sharing two separate take out desserts. We also drank hot chocolate. What is this life? A GOOD ONE!

I’ve decided I have weird class crushes on two boys. When I say “crush” I don’t mean in the traditional sense. I would never try to date either boy. For one, they’re both twelve. For two, there are, well, two of them. Though, maybe that wouldn’t be a bad thing (ba-dum-bum-chiiiiing…insert winky face).
Anyway, my crush is more in the way where I just want to be their friend. We have Greek together, so I see them every week, but we don’t talk much other than small talk outside the classroom. I’ve run into both of them outside of class and had absolutely mind-blowingly awkward extended small talk convos. They were so awkward it was painful. I actually started to write entries that included both instances, but never finished them. Despite all this, I still want to attempt to be their friend. I can’t explain why. I guess maybe they seem cool to me? A bit ridiculous since I don’t even really know them.

If I had a nickel for every time someone commented on me sitting in the window at school, I’d be able to pay off my tuition. Dr. Shaggy passed me sitting in it the other day and said, “Is that your new office?” Why yes, yes it is.
Actually, the other day I arrived at school and there was another woman sitting in my window. I didn’t know what to do with myself. I debated fighting her. Animalistic territorial tendencies coming out in full force.

Marshmallows in the UK are tragic. Although I do consider myself a ‘mallow connoisseur, I’m not the only one who thinks they’re off. Claire also finds them lacking. It’s like they have some extra coating on the outside of them. They’re somehow more sweet than US ones. And they aren’t near as fluffy. Almost every single bag is mixed with raspberry flavors, too. So you get white, regular flavored marshmallows, and pink, raspberry ones. If you don’t want raspberry marshmallows, too damn bad. Pick around them. That’s what Claire had to do for Friendsgiving sweet potato casserole. Pick out the pink marshmallows.

I was walking to get medicine for myself Friday and happened to make eye contact with a guy walking down the street. He was all smiles and cheery, and although I had headphones in, I heard him say “HELLO! MERRY CHRISTMAS! Happy Holidays!” I thought that was nice, so I smiled and said it back. He said some other things that were lost on me, but then followed up with “I have a gift for you!”
Now, you know when someone gestures to give something with their hand, so you automatically react by putting yours out to receive? I started to do that, and then happened to see what he had in his hand. I’m 99.5% sure it was a joint.  So… a man tried to give me a joint as a  “Christmas gift” on the sidewalk. That was a thing. I nervously laughed and said, “Oh, no, I’m good. You keep it…” and walked off as fast as I could.
If cameras followed me around… oh man, the weird stuff that would finally be captured.

About Lost in London

I often have no clue what I am doing. I get lost, A LOT. I have a terrible sweet tooth which I say I am fighting, but I usually follow that claim up with inhaling a cupcake. Currently I am attempting to live in London and get my Masters. Come and watch me blunder!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

