Pokemon pick-up lines

So I downloaded Tinder. Tinder is this iPhone app which is supposed to be for dating, but has a reputation for sleazy hook-ups (at least in America). Never in my life was I tempted to put it anywhere on my phone. For one, I don’t have much room on there for unnecessary apps. For two, the internet is scary and if I wanted some sleazy hook-up I could pick one up in a bar where I could size them up and see their face first. Not that I would, but you get what I mean.
So then why did I download it? Well, it’s a long story which I can’t really go into detail about. Let’s just say I was heavily coerced via the Girl Code to creep other people on there. I decided I might as well have fun with it. So my picture is me with a pikachu mural, and my profile says, “I just want to be the very best, like no one ever was.” For those of you who don’t know, that’s the opening line to the Pokemon theme song.
Anyway, Tinder is really good for being judge-y and making yourself feel better by swiping “yes” or “nope” to people based off appearance or whatever they have to say about themselves within 400 words. Some people are actually really funny, and I swiped “yes” on them because they made me laugh. One guy described himself, “I’m alright I guess. Not amazing. Like, okay. Not the worst. If I had to sum myself up in one word that word would be ‘tepid.'” His picture is himself in some weird bunny cape-type costume. I don’t know what’s happening there, and I’m okay with it. You do you, random Tinder guy. He made me laugh for a long time and that is all that matters.
Now, if I swipe “yes” on someone and they do the same for me, we end up matching and Tinder gives us permission to message each other (Tinder is such a thoughtful chaperone). It’s almost like catching Pokemon (yea, I just went there). HOW MANY CAN I CATCH?!  The answer is a surprising amount, actually. I’ve been amusing myself during my nonexistent down time by messaging these guys when we match and forcing them to talk to me about Pokemon. Sometimes I open with the ever popular,
“Okay, you’re finally 10 years old and able to set out to explore the Kanto region. Professor Oak has given you first choice ahead of his nephew Blue/Gary. Which do you choose: Bulbasaur, Charmander, or Squirtle?”
It’s a pretty quick way to weed out the losers. Psh, what do you mean you don’t know who Professor Oak is? NEXT! As a fun fact, so far everyone has picked Charmander. Not very original of them.
…this is what I do with my free time. This is probably why I’m failing Greek.

Today for Dr. Shaggy’s class we went to watch glass blowing at a local shop. A few weeks ago we went to a bronze foundry and were able to see the ins and outs of bronze statue creation; we were even lucky enough to see them pour bronze into moulds. I’m really getting to see a lot of really cool things in this class, and I’m so glad I took it. Glass blowing was amazing. The blowing portion of it was less exciting than I had hoped (the particular shape they were creating didn’t need it to create  it), but the rest of the process was really neat.
It always amazes me how laid back people are with things they are comfortable with. I am terrified of breaking glass. I don’t know why, it is just one of those things that gives me extreme anxiety. Like balloons popping. I hate it. Boiling hot glass doesn’t sound like it would be much better. Instead of cutting my skin it would just burn it off. The guys handling and creating the glass today were very casual about it. They didn’t really have any protective gear (one guy wore a short-sleeved t-shirt, cargo shorts, and regular sneakers), and made it seem like it was the most normal thing in the world to be holding a red, hot iron with a glob of molten glass at the end. No big deal. To handle the glass, the worker has to continually turn the iron rod they’re holding. Otherwise, since the glass is fluid, it will begin to drip. They demonstrated what it looked like when this happened, and it was the weirdest/coolest thing. I wish I had gotten a photo of it, but I wasn’t thinking about it at the time. It drizzled and pooled just like melted chocolate might. Then, after a few seconds of cooling, the glass began to turn clear again, and he was able to pick up the iron it was still attached to, showing how it held the drizzled shape.

img_9857

Attaching a temporary foot to the main glass piece. Teamwork makes the dream work.

img_9856

Firey hot glass mixture. Circular shape on the inside is the coloured glass, the pointy portion shows where the clear glass has been overlaid and shaped

And now, I need to do my Greek homework that I’ve been putting off. Hopefully it won’t take me a thousand years like it usually does. But I think it likely will and I will be up until 2:00 am trying to finish it. Fun life!

About Lost in London

I often have no clue what I am doing. I get lost, A LOT. I have a terrible sweet tooth which I say I am fighting, but I usually follow that claim up with inhaling a cupcake. Currently I am attempting to live in London and get my Masters. Come and watch me blunder!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

